the internal dialogue

‘Focus today’s post on the contrast between two things. The twist? Write the post in the form of a dialogue.’

It’s getting to that time of the year when people ask what you’re going to do with your life. Now that my peers have graduated and I have just over a month left of my placement year, the big question – ‘so what do you plan to do after you graduate?’ keeps rearing it’s ugly head. Which always ensues this very internal dialogue that has been memorised as if it has been playing like a broken record.

‘Norfolk or London? Or do I grow a pair and move to a county I haven’t lived in before?’ my scattered brain asks.

‘Silly, you’ll go wherever the job takes you. I thought you wanted an adventure, to travel?’ the voice of reason says.

‘An adventure abroad, not the UK! If I stayed in Norwich, I already know the city, have housemates and it’s uber cheap. If I go back to London it’s hello parents after four years of freedom. No thank you!’

‘Or you could find your own place in London? Flatshare?’ says the smart voice calmly.

‘Yeah with what money? Have you seen the prices PER WEEK?! What about diablo? We can’t sell him, he’s our baby.’ Scatty argues.

‘All the more reason to pull your socks up and do well in your last year. Plus there will be houses that have parking, you may just have to hone in on your parallel parking.’

‘Fine smarty pants, answer this – after gaining a year of experience in the industry what job are we going to get?’ said Scatty.

‘I haven’t quite figured that one out yet.’ Smarty said defeated. ‘But we don’t have to figure that out just yet, we don’t have to have a concrete plan.’

‘So we’re going to wing it?’ asks Scatty.

‘Basically’ replied Smarty.

This is just the summary, afterwards I crave a tub of chocolate ice cream whilst cradling myself  full-foetal position.

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

