Changing moccasins

‘A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

Today’s twist: write the scene from three different points of view: from the perspective of the man, then the woman, and finally the old woman.’

‘Ready, set, go!’ Fred shouts, off we go. I hold onto my husband, Matt as if my life depends on it. Being a foot shorter than him his huge gait made it feel like he was pulling me along. His tie was rubbing into my left calf every time I lifted it. When was the last time I did this? I thought. It must have been in primary school! Stop Carla, focus on the race. The finish line was fast approaching, Matt was glancing at Fred to see how close him and Pamela were. I could feel him pulling us forward, please don’t let us fall was all I could think of, not now.

‘HA! I told you we still had it.’ Matt kissed me as he celebrated, and why shouldn’t he? He had been quite down lately. ‘Guess hitting the big four-oh has affected your game.’ Matt patted Fred on the shoulder, ‘Don’t worry I’ll go easy on you this Saturday mate.’ Pamela and Fred had invited us along to the park this evening for a barbecue. Nothing fancy, just a few drinks, food and fun in the sun.

***

I love the park, its much better than sitting alone in the house, it makes me stir-crazy. Since Arthur died, bless his soul, the house feels so big and empty for little old me. Luckily Sarah and Alice bring the grand-children around every week, what would I do without them? I look down at the jumper, scarlet in colour and small enough to fit a doll. Alice was due any day, another grandchild! I was ecstatic a little baby girl on the way. I held the jumper out in front of me, admiring it. There were two couples on the grass, so young and so in love. It was another reason why I loved the park, everyone’s so happy.

***

As we walked hand in hand towards home Carla smiled at me, I was the luckiest man in the world to have married not only the most beautiful girl in the world, but my best friend. I felt guilty, the last few weeks I had been so wrapped up at work we had become so distant. But tonight we had a reason to celebrate, I wasn’t going to lose my job, in fact I had been given a promotion. I smiled back, an old lady who was sitting on a bench dropped her ball of wool, it was rolling down the path towards us, as she stood up a cyclist sped past her. I jogged to pick up the wool, winding it back up as I approached her. ‘Thank you, at least some people still have manners.’ she said shaking her head towards the cyclist.

‘Don’t worry, have a nice evening.’ I said to her, her wishing the same to us.

‘Such a cute jumper. I wish I knew how to knit.’ Carla said as we passed her.

‘Really? What would you knit?’ I asked her.

‘Little jumpers like hers, or socks, or a little hat.’ She said

‘Why?’ I asked stopping in the middle of the path.

She smiled, ‘Matt, I’m pregnant.’ I stared at her shocked, but only for a moment before lifting her off the ground while hugging her. I was going to be a dad. I couldn’t help it tears started to stream down my face. ‘Matt are you ok?’ she looked at me worried.

‘I’ve never been better, we’re going to have a baby.’

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

