Food makes me happy

Today, be inspired by a favourite childhood meal. For the twist, focus on infusing the post with your unique voice — even if that makes you a little nervous.

I was a fussy kid, I was good in the fact I ate my fruit and veg. But I hated fish especially salt fish (or stinky fish as I coined it), celery, rice and peas etc. One thing I did take a liking to was pasta. I tried to have it in every meal when I was younger, especially the tri-colour one as it was so colourful. My family used to tease me about my love for pasta, most rice-centric meals I’d actually substitute the rice for pasta. Or I loved my nan’s home made curry and roti. It reminds me of her old house that I loved playing in as a child. She did try to teach me how to make the roti every so often, but I kept forgetting there were too many steps for my little brain. Or the frozen chocolate gateaus that were too rich and sweet, but still amazing. You knew there was a family gathering if there was a chocolate gateau!

If I’m honest when I was younger it always felt weird as I wasn’t eating just English food, or it wasn’t a stereotypical take-away dish. Now a days I appreciate that type of food more, as I’m lucky to have been brought up in different cultures. One day I could be having a Sunday roast (never on a Sunday) or toad in the hole to Singaporean sweet and sour or Guyanese bakes as a snack.

Annmarie xoxo 

Leave a Reply :)

