You’ve changed

‘Today, imagine you work in a place where you manage lost or forgotten items. What might you find in the pile? For those participating in our serial challenge, reflect on the theme of “lost and found,” too.’

Welcome to the tour of my workplace – the brain. As you can see it has been established for 21 years, apologies for the dust in the corner.  Watch out for that slippery floor over there, that’s where things get forgotten such as dates, anything academic which would be of use during assessments, or words…in general.  Now I know what you’re thinking, why aren’t we using the beautiful fingerposts during this tour to get to the next place? Well they’re of no use, because in this workplace we don’t know where we are or where we’re going!

To grow you have to depart with some of your old ways of thinking, be it about certain people who are just not good for you, the way you see yourself, or as simple as finding the correct solution.  It’s funny because to grow, it often means changing something which leads to people saying ‘you’ve changed’.

But why does that statement always have negative connotations? Why do people tend to fear when people change? Most of the time that change is good for that person. I guess in some cases it means that person no longer has a doormat they can step all over. But it’s completely natural to change overtime. Different experiences challenge you and make you into the person you are.

Or you have an epiphany and realise you’re fed up of being treated as the sidekick and want to be the person in control of your own life.

I do wonder if time travel was possible, what 14 year old me would think of 21 year old me? Would she like what she saw?

I mean in some ways I haven’t changed, and I’m still the same person. But I’ve seen that light at the other end of the tunnel (basically finishing school!) and realised half of the worries I had are over, that I’ve been unfair on myself. Would she see myself as a fighter/intelligent/and yet still socially inept? Or would she still be so negative that she would just reflect on the worst and see no changes? I guess until they’ve invented time travel or I’m the Doctor’s companion we’ll never know!

 

side note – how do you create a blog about yourself, without it not being narcissistic?

Annmarie xoxo

 

Leave a Reply :)

