Little acts of kindness

Moving back to London for a couple of weeks, I can honestly say I can’t wait until I stop living out of suitcases and IKEA bags for a year and can actually move into a place for 2 years, at least! *5th house in 4 years next month*

I left my bike at Uni for the month, as there was no way I could fit that into the car. I had to speak to security about it, so they wouldn’t think my bike was abandoned. On the way to the security building a blind man asked me if I could tell him where the bus stop was. Even though it was about 100m in front of him, pedestrians have to cross at the roundabout and then cross again at a zebra crossing to reach the main bus stop. So I took him to the bus stop, he was surprised. It isn’t the busiest of roads, especially as this time of the year, but I still can’t imagine it being easy alone with partial sight. Plus we had a nice little chat, and with my help, he got there as soon as the bus was pulling in, so he didn’t have to wait.

Recently I have been trying to use up all the food I have stored in the house, cue food baby. However, it got to the point on Friday night when I admitted defeat. I wouldn’t be able to take it all back with me, and I didn’t want to chuck it. Everything was good, well in date and had it not been for me moving, it would have been used. So I took it all to a foodbank, hopefully helping someone (and preventing it all going into a landfill).

The only problem I had, was the nearest one was in a ward I had never been to and I used my phone as a sat nav but with Norwich’s 3G by the time it would load the current step I’d be half a mile past that. In the end I gave up, pulled over and used my actual sat nav. Apple, your maps suck.

It felt nice helping people, and the drive back from Norwich to London at night wasn’t too dramatic. But just because the sun went bye bye for the day, does not mean you need to drive with your fog lights and high beam on blinding everyone. Especially on a lit dual carriageway!

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

