Hail thee inner sloth!

Now let’s just take a moment to laugh at the subject of this post following the previous post about the 7 (or newly formed 8) sins.

Done? ok.

It dawned on me this morning how without the weekly routine of working 9-5, how easy it is to slip into nocturnal mode. I know I’ve never been a morning person (darn chirpy productive morning people – HOW?!!!), but I’ve always trudge along and got on with it… by hitting snooze one or two…or five times.

But without a disciplinarily/monetary reason to get out of bed at 7am. 7am becomes 10 or 11am and I just lose all sense of productiveness, as my day is rescheduled by 3-4 hours extra sleep.

So how am I going to improve this?

01 7am wake up! I’ll start setting an alarm again, which means I’ll also have to be going to bed before midnight to ensure that I get enough sleep. Plus as Ted’s mother always said – nothing good happens after 2am.

IMG_2508

02 A good solid breakfast…instead of the randomness that has become my well brunch. What better way to do that by taking advantage of all the great fruit in season currently.

IMG_2512

03 Distractions! So my brain doesn’t realise what I’m trying to do with it. Seeing as I don’t have the clock to race against to get to somewhere on a certain time, I can slowly wake my brain with a little bit of light reading (currently reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway) or brushing up on my French with Duolingo.

04 Punching the clock. No not physical violence, but using a timesheet to record the hours I spend on my dissertation work…so the work happens.

No more excuses, no more distractions – time to seize the…mornings! Any morning larks out there got any tips?

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

