I did promise cake

Had to use up some double cream, so I whipped up some little cupcakes, and yes I could have taken a more flattering photo.

Because I’m still in serious Annmarie mode (can the 14th January come any quicker) hell June. I read this article earlier and as condescending as the tone is written, you can’t deny how truthful it is.

I’m talking about skills that cannot be taught in a classroom or in a textbook. Skills you can only learn by doing; by learning how to fly after jumping off the cliff.

Although I’m a full-time student, one thing I’ve realised throughout the last five years is that I hate the way we learn. Textbooks, being talked at, jumping through hoops to pass exams. I don’t learn like that, of course to do well I jump through the hoops, but I don’t feel like I gain anything. In fact I’m finding it harder to motivate myself to carry on like that. I learn by actually doing things, or being in the environment to see it for myself.

Because you think everything is too hard or too complicated so you will just “sit this one out”, or maybe you’ll, “do-it-tomorrow”!

This is a thought that is currently singing like a broken record in my head. But in truth trying something even though it’s hard or complicated is better than not doing it at all. At least attempting it you can fail, and by failing you can learn what went wrong and grow. It is the main reason right now why I won’t do anything amazing with my life – as the article title puts it.

Because even if I told you everything could be different tomorrow you would wait until then to begin doing anything about it.

Another hard truth.

In the words of Rocky –

In other news, I’m applying for some part time jobs because I’m going stir-crazy being unemployed after 3 weeks!!!

Plus I’m thinking of dying my hair tomorrow eeek! I just hope it doesn’t kill my curls 😦

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

