Daily prompt: Meet Diablo!

Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis. – daily prompt

I’ve never really felt the need to name an inanimate object before, I remember when it was the craze to name your iPod (yeah, cause I had one of those as a kid). But when I bought my car I really wanted to give it a name, it felt rude not to. Especially after the abuse I put him through with my constant singing, and the time I drove my near passenger wheel into a ditch and broke my fog light and mud guard, which the former flew off on the A47 afterwards and the latter I had to drive back to collect looking like a crazy person umming and ahhing to decide if it indeed was mine – it was.

Deciding a name was hard, it was like naming a baby. I had to choose wisely because he would forever been known as that name. Yes I had already decided my car was a boy. In the end he was named Diablo because that was the colour red he was on the papers. Plus as it means devil in Spanish, he is also a devil to drive sometimes as I’m a tiny person and not used to having a huge spatial awareness and parking him is sometimes a nightmare.

I’ve been on some great adventures with Diablo over the last year. Including the many times I’ve been on rural roads and just had birds stand there, not giving one single care. Reving my engine did nothing, nor hooting. Birds are cocky things sometimes.

20140814-220717-79637904.jpg

But mainly been able to explore parts of Norwich I hadn’t seen in the previous 2 years, and parts of Norfolk I would have never known about.
20140814-220719-79639339.jpg

Overall he’s my life line, and I love him…even if petrol, insurance and tax so far have eaten all my money. But hey that’s adulthood for you isn’t it?

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

