the mindramblings of an highly emotional girl

heh, at least I didn’t beat around the bush with the title?

Don’t worry Photography 101 will be back tomorrow.

I don’t know what kicked it off this time, scanning through Humans of New York, and coming across stories that struck a cord. I have to present my ‘findings’ so far on my project in front of a group tomorrow morning, where I have to explain why I’m behind and the colossal amount of work I do have to do in 2 months to catch up. Right now I’m creating the presentation and I already feel nauseous. After that tortuous morning, I then have to go to a workshop to tackle inner demons. Or, the fact that people keep telling me not to worry or stress, as if it’s something I can easily turn off and choose to keep the switch on.

One comment I kept seeing on HONY page, especially on heart breaking stories is ‘If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d quickly grab ours back.’ while I agree, I think it diminishes that persons problem. Why do we have to try and ‘one-up’ someone on who has it worse? At the end of the day, would you really want to win the ‘who has it worse?’  competition. Yes, we need to have perspective on our problems, but downplaying it doesn’t help to solve it. Yes in perspective to x or y’s life it may seem trivial, but it doesn’t negate your problem. To tell someone that x has it worse than you, then just makes them feel guilty for feeling or worrying about their struggles or pains, something that is real and personal to them. Worries are worries, struggles are struggles and pains are pains. But at the same time, we have to remember we’re not the only ones feeling like that. I think that’s the beauty of HONY, it’s the next step from people watching, instead of hypothetically guessing that persons life, their life is opened up to you.

I should probably get back to my presentation, or all those hypothetically negative scenarios my mind is currently concocting will occur.

Annmarie xoxo

Leave a Reply :)

