Ch ch ch ch changes

…For 2015
I didn’t want to ruin the title, as that gem of a song popped into my head!

Now I know in a very recent post I said New Years resolutions are pointless, and I still stand by that. I’m not going to start a new fad or vow to remove xyz from my life, just because it’s a new calendar year – there’s no actual motivation behind that, at least for me personally.

However I do feel you can’t completely grow without having goals in mind. That’s what I plan to do in 2015, either continue to grow premature habits or bring back things that recently I’ve noticed are missing in my life. All in the name of self care / CBT homework!

1. Complete 5 year Q&A diary.
First of all, who’s the idiot that left the book 100miles away? It’s something I saw when buying a new journal. I really want to fill it out to see how my mentality changes over the 5 years. To look back and reflect upon.20141231-235645-862053622

2. Read 23 books…without spending any money.
Unfortunately I didn’t meet my Goodreads target for this year (probably didn’t help that I set it up in May) but want to actually achieve it next year. I found I was either given books or bought many this year that I haven’t gotten around to reading. I hope that by challenging myself to achieve that number without spending money will mean I can get through that list. But also, more importantly save money because I’m a poor student! Why 23? Because that’s how old I’ll be at the end of 2015 (oh god, I’m getting closer to 30).

IMG_07653. Meditate more often / have more me time!
Over the last few months I’ve realised that I always put myself last, even if it means sacrificing time to help others out I’d do it, because that was how I was raised. The sad thing is I’ve realised those around me do the opposite, and then I wonder why I’m so behind compared to others, or look back at friendships and realise I was just a doormat. So this year I’ve decided to make time for myself, even if it’s just to relax and put my wellbeing first.20141231-235642-862027244. Increase emotional awareness
I’ve always been pretty pessimistic, but more and more over the past year I’ve realised how much of a drain this has been. How my own thoughts have held me back. For the last few weeks whenever I’ve had a negative thought I’ve written it down and made it into an origami heart. The idea is everytime I fill a jar I burn it…or recycle it.

Happy new year!
Annmarie xoxo

One thought on “Ch ch ch ch changes

  1. Pingback: Determination | dreamandflutter

Leave a Reply :)

