Review: If I Stay – Gayle Forman

I wanted to read this book because I kept seeing the trailers for the film pop-up earlier in the year and thought it looked interesting.

On a day that started like any other…
Mia had everything: a loving family, a gorgeous, adoring boyfriend, and a bright future full of music and full of choices. Then, in an instant, almost all of that is taken from her. Caught between life and death, between a happy past and an unknowable future, Mia spends one critical day contemplating the one decision she has left—the most important decision she’ll ever make.
Simultaneously tragic and hopeful, this is a romantic, riveting and ultimately uplifting story about memory, music, living, dying, loving.

Except I didn’t really enjoy it. It was definitely an easy read, partially because there’s not that much going on. The reason I probably didn’t enjoy it though is that I’m probably not it’s target audience. I’m not a chick-flick type of person. I could understand if you were a teenage girl into chick-flicks why you would love this book. Especially the way her and her boyfriend would do anything for each other, to the point where he pulls idiotic stunts in an ICU…ahem I mean romantic? Usually I become very emotionally invested in fictional characters, but I honestly couldn’t care less about the main characters following the accident.

Not surprisingly I give this book, one lonely owl.

OneOwl
Annmarie xoxo

3 thoughts on “Review: If I Stay – Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply :)

