setting goals

Yup I’ve crawled out of my cave…again. Just in time to commit myself (in writing) to what I want to achieve over the next year.

Over the last few months my mind hasn’t been in the best places. I feel like my life had become stagnant, and I wasn’t getting anywhere, just further and further away from where I wanted to be. I had imagined my life after University to be different, but at the same time I cynically knew I’d end up exactly where I am.

I’m 70-80% I’ll achieve the following below. They’re goals I want to do to achieve something bigger. In no particular order…

1. Apprendre le français
I’ve finished the English > French tree earlier this year on Duolingo. But I’d like to finish the reverse tree as well. I want to reach 90% on Lingvist, and finish my drill books and old exercise books from school. By achieving all of those, I hope to by the end of the year be able to take part in language exchange websites and not be terrified of even the prospect of doing so.

2. Read more
Yes the reading challenge failed this year, but I was also doing a full time degree for the majority of it and then ridiculous 10-12 hour shifts for a job which left no time to read. So far I’ve enjoyed reading in the last month whenever on public transport and really want to continue. So I’m giving myself the challenge again of reading 23 books this year. Aiming for reading 50 pages a day hopefully. I also got some good books as Christmas presents that I’m looking forward to.

3. Exercise and diet
I’ve known for years how drastically my mood and mindset is altered if I’m inactive. I want to get back into pilates and overtime running. It’ll be harder now I no longer have a free gym membership as I’ll have to get over my nerves of running in public. But I’ve always want to get into the Zombies run app now that I have it after years of wanting it, that might take my mind off of things if I have a zombie on my arse. Also diet goes hand in hand with exercise. Surprisingly I ate healthier at Uni than I do now I’m home. Probably because I had no money, so out went the junk food. I want to get back to that, I enjoyed cooking and trying new recipes.

4. This blog
I want to bring it back from the dead. There have been numerous occasions where I’ve sat down to write, only to knock the idea on the head because I was doubting myself. I want to overcome that, and enjoy blogging again. I have a couple of ideas I’ve been toying with. Should probably start with changing my About me…

5. Mental Health
I recently had several CBT sessions which have been helping, before I start something more intensive next year. It’s something I really want to focus on over the next year, with the idea of focusing on the goals above to aid it. It’s something I’m sick of suffering with, and allowing it to hold me back or sabotage opportunities.

Annmarie xoxo

2 thoughts on “setting goals

  1. Pingback: Setting goals part two | Dream and flutter

  2. Pingback: Setting goals part II | Dream and flutter

Leave a Reply :)

