Parawhore

Who did you idolize as a teenager? Did you go crazy for the Beatles? Ga-ga over Duran Duran? In love with Justin Bieber? Did you think Elvis was the livin’ end?

There’s one band that comes to mind, that I may have had a slight obsession over. One that dominated…well still does my scrobbles. One that I had their posters across my walls, would collect Kerrang/Rocksound for just to get articles about them. Would collect the vinyl singles as well as the normal singles. When I would already have the album.

I’ll give you a moment to stop laughing at the username. In my defence it was 2007, I was fourteen and MySpace was in…I repeat MYSPACE.

I remember stumbling across them when seeing their videos for Emergency & Pressure in 2006 and instantly falling in love with them. As a present for my 15th birthday my sister bought tickets for me to see them at Brixton. My first proper concert. When the tickets went on sale, I was in Swanage, Dorset as part of a Geography trip and had entrusted my dad to buy the tickets. I was ecstatic when I got them. I remember my friend and I got there so late because of school, we were trying to find the end of the line to queue up, and there was a big gap so we snuck into it and ended up being three lines from the barrier. Right up close to the band.

I still sometimes listen to them, usually AWKIF and RIOT. I drifted away from them the same time Josh and Zac left the band. It never felt the same when they left. It also tainted Brand New Eyes for me.

Annmarie xoxo

 

Leave a Reply :)

